Absence

It’s absolutely true.

A family reunion after too longĀ  apart.

Finding a long lost friend.

Rereading a favorite book after it’s finally been returned.

Returning to Jiu jitsu after an injury.

Absence really does make me more appreciative.

 

I just realized this a few moments ago as I struggled with dragging myself off to class. I injured my back on the weekend and today was the first pain free day since the tree climbing accident. I like training. I like the feeling of time well spent doing work worth doing. I enjoy the camaraderie. Hell, I like wearing tights.

DSC_0053
No wonder my back is hurt! Fix that posture! And tie that belt!

But sometimes you don’t get what you like. Sometimes you need to take what you need. Sometimes you need to rest.

I’m pulling a double tomorrow. See you on the mat.

Train and Sustain.

Protect yourself. Wear a mouth guard.
Protect yo’self! Tape and mouth guards! Get with me!

 

One thought on “Absence

Leave a comment